Another quickie … but with oomph!

And the oomph comes out of Calpe Towers.

New Calpe news

There has been an update to the Calpe Miniatures website. Hurrah!

There are the latest figure releases – firing line figures for the Saxon musketeers, grenadiers and the Jaeger company as well as a musketeer regimental headquarters …

  • S52, Musketeer regiment headquarters. Mounted colonel and major. Standing guard and sergeant-major
  • S53, Saxon musketeer firing line. Three figures firing and three loading
  • S54, Four Saxon musketeers holding fire
  • S55, Four Saxon musketeers. Variations of figures from packs S53 and S54. Two figures with heads turned and two with greatcoat rolls
  • S56, Four Saxon musketeers. Variations of figures from packs S53 and S54. Two bareheaded figures and two with forage caps
  • S57, Six figures. Standard bearer and two NCO guards. Sapper, drummer and senior NCO
  • S58, Grenadier firing line. Two firing figures, two holding fire and two loading
  • S59, Grenadier variants of S58. Head turns, forage cap, greatcoat rolls and bareheaded versions
  • S60, Saxon Jaeger coy. Six figures in skirmish poses.

von Peter himself feels an order is imminent. The Jaeger Company is particularly tempting. One pack of six figures completes the unit. Even von Peter himself should be able to complete / pigment the unit within a decade!  😃

There is also an associated News pronouncement which I reproduce here for the convenience of the The dear readership

The website has been updated with the new Saxon codes. These codes mark the completion of the Saxon musketeers and the start of the light infantry codes. S60, the jaeger company, is the first of the light infantry codes. The figures for the two light infantry regiments will form most of the next release – initially in firing line poses and then in march-attack and advancing poses. I’m not sure how I am going to organise the packs for these, as there were only four light infantry battalions. Fewer variations are required, so I’ll have to give some thought to how I structure these sets of figures.

I am also working on the figures for the Saxon foot artillery. I will release these when I feel that I have completed enough figures. Although I cannot give you a release date, rest assured that the foot artillery gunners will be released some time this year. I will tackle the horse artillery when I deal with the Saxon cavalry. I have the Limbers and caissons ready but need the horses and drivers to go with them. I have also come across some new information recently that may require additions to this range of equipment pieces.

I have had a large number of inquiries about additions to the French ranges. I really enjoy sculpting these and they sell very well so more figures will be forthcoming. I am, however, going to concentrate on the Saxons for the next few months in an effort to complete this army. I felt that alternating between Saxons, French and Prussians was just drawing all three out with nothing being completed to my satisfaction. I am going back to my original way of working and hope to finish the Saxons this year before returning to the French.

I have added information on the Jaegers, Headquarters set (S52) and some thoughts on Saxon skirmishers to the “Guides and Research” section of the website.

An important piece of information I need to draw your attention to is that I will no longer personally accept card details for payment. All payments now have to go through the website or agencies such as Paypal or Sage. The reason for this is that the security protocols for card payments are so stringent now, that the old fashioned way of taking your card number by phone or receiving it by email is frowned upon. I have recently given up my card machine, as it was no longer paying for itself. Last year I put less than ten payments through the machine. Paypal and Sage Pay now process almost all of the payments made to Calpe.  The fact that I do not handle sensitive card data means that the vetting procedure I have to undergo each year to continue trading has become straightforward.

**COMING SOON** Last of all, you will see that there is a new section in the website – “Items for Sale.” I mentioned this in my previous update but was overtaken by events and had to leave it for this update. This new section is experimental and I am not entirely sure how it is going to work. My intention is to fine-tune it as we go along. Any comments are welcome.

As always thank you for your support and very belated good wishes for a not so New Year.

Peter

It’s all good news for this self confessed Calpe zealot.

Images “borrowed” from the Calpe Miniatures website.

 

Simon Miller discusses For King and Parliament

Eleven minutes and seventeen seconds of The BigRedBat Simon Miller discussing his upcoming rule set for the English Civil War For King and Parliament which are based on his To the Strongest! ancients rules. Also plenty of footage of his ECW armies which would be the envy of many gamers. Damn that man! 😃  Although one must give him credit for sitting down in front of the camera.

 

Another Oddcast

The TooFatLardies have released Episode Six of the TwoFatLardies Oddcast podcast. If you’re keen you can get it here or listen to it directly from here.

 

vonpeterhimself.com progresses in a slow and dignified manner

As a self serving advertorial von Peter himself would like to remind The dear readers that the vonpeterhimself.com website – as opposed to this here blog – is still sporadically developing. The recent big advance has been the opening of the Links section with new links being added every few days. The Army Inspection section is also twiddled with on occasion.

 

Enough.

Until we meet again …

Salute
von Peter himself

4 thoughts on “Another quickie … but with oomph!

Leave a comment